God’s Timing is Perfect

Image: FreeDigitalPhotos.net

A few months ago, or maybe it was a year ago, I met a young mom to be at a small group through our church. She was pregnant and I had just had my baby a couple months prior. We chatted for a few minutes and exchanged names, which happened to be the same, and then we moved on. A few days later, I reconnected with her on Facebook, but we never met in person. We commented on each other’s posts and pictures and occasionally sent private messages to one another. She had her baby and we kept in touch, but we never met up with one another. It was a rather odd situation because I felt like I knew her and that we were friends, even though we spent no time together. Months had past and God finally gave us the chance to meet in person.

We met up just a couple of weeks ago and within 30 minutes of seeing one another we were in deep conversations about the state of our marriages, where we were on our spiritual walks and what we thought or didn’t think God was doing in our lives. How funny! Honestly, we really didn’t know one another and here we were sharing our deepest confessions. I thought to myself, “Wow, this is really what it means to be a sister in Christ.” When we are brothers and sisters in Christ, we know one another in a very different way than we would a non-believer. We should be able to confess, share, and trust our siblings in Christ because we are of the same family. After God revealed this to me, He went on to reveal even more. Prior to this meeting, my friend and I kept trying to make plans to get together, but somehow the opportunity never arose. When we finally managed to match our schedules, the timing could not have been more perfect. My friend and I were in very similar places in our marriages and we were able to talk and connect with one another so intimately as a result. Had we met prior to that day, we would not have had the same connection. All of those failed attempts at getting together was a way for God to build our character, take us deeper in our journeys, and intersect our lives at exactly the right time.

God is so good. Had none of this happened, I would not have even considered writing a blog about encouraging women in the Lord. I felt so refreshed and so inspired by the date with my friend that I dug deeper into scripture and found that God was really laying Titus 2: 3-5 heavily on my heart. I can’t get this verse out of my mind because I can’t believe after 16 years of being a Christian that I never took this verse to heart. God needed me to be in a place in my life to really understand this verse and really apply it and so here I am sharing it with you and allowing God to use this blog to inspire my sisters in Christ.

Likewise, teach the older women to be reverent in the way they live, not to be slanderers or addicted to much wine, but to teach what is good. Then they can urge the younger women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands, so that no one will malign the word of God.” Titus 2:3-5

I’d love to hear how God has revealed his perfect timing in your life?

2 thoughts on “God’s Timing is Perfect

  1. Pingback: Four Ways to Change Your Prayer Perspective | To Teach What Is Good

  2. Pingback: Four Ways to Change Your Prayer Perspective

Leave a Reply

